Portus Albus

Portus Albus with Diana Dors (Jimmy second left)

The name Portus Albus is latin for white harbour i.e. Whitehaven which is where the band were based. Portus Albus consisted of Jimmy McClean on lead vocals, Dave Proud on guitar and Alan Flynn on Bass. All three were previously members of The Inspirations

Portus Albus were a close-harmony band performing material in a country and folk vein. They performed numbers such as "Ruby, Don't Take Your Love To Town", "Gentle on My Mind", "Make Me an Island" and "Pretty Woman". They also did a selection of Four Seasons numbers for which Dave took over the lead vocals. Des Murdoch (formerly of The Invaders) also wrote a song for them.

As well as playing in the usual Cumbrian venues the band also performed in the North East.

One of their treasured memories was being presented with a trophy by Diana Dors (above).

Jimmy still performs as a solo act and is pictured below.

The photograph above is of Jimmy McLean (holding the mike) performing at a charity gig in Maryport civic hall, formerly the Palace Ballroom, in 2006.