Chapter Five

From the left, Frank Hayes (Bass Guitar) Tony Flanagan (Drums) Dave Roberts (Sax) Dave McGerty (Keyboards) Allan Davies (Lead & Rhythm Guitar) & John Ritson (Vocals).

The  photo was taken for promotional purposes at the Public Hall Barrow-in-Furness
in 1966 just before they made their CBS record"You can't mean it".

Chapter Five were from Barrow-in-Furness and were formed in 1964.

The original lineup was Dave McGerty on keyboards, Allan Davies on guitar, Frank Hayes on bass, Tony Flanagan on drums, Dave Roberts on tenor sax, Bruce Martin on trumpet, Lou Mickleback on baritone sax and Bob Atkinson on vocals. John Ritson took over from Bob on vocals shortly afterwards.

Chapter Five turned professional in 1966 and toured Germany later that year.

For a complete history of Chapter Five visit their website at
The band recorded three songs for CBS. Their first single was a cover of Maxine Browns "Anything That You Do Is Alright". The "B" side was a Dave McGerty composition, "You Can't Mean It". The single sold reasonably well for a first release and charted in the top forty of a couple of Pirate Radio stations.

The Bands other recording was also a cover of a song recorded by Maxine Brown entitled "One In A Million", a Rudy Clarke composition. The song was a favourite  of the band and it was expected to do well. The single was featured on BBC's Juke Box Jury and one of the panelists was Kenny Everett and he voted the song a miss.

Amongst the many bands that Chapter Five played with over the years were -

Ike and Tina Turner, The Hollies, Manfred Mann,
Billy Fury, The Small Faces, Herman's Hermits,
Spencer Davies Group, The Kinks, Billy J Kramer and the Dakotas, The Troggs, The Pretty Things and Freddie and The Dreamers.


Chapter Five together again in August 2004

An update from Dave in January 2008 -

Thought you might like to hear about some developments with my songwriting and composing efforts. I am currently co-writing with the great songwriter/composer Tony Hiller. Tony created "Brotherhood of Man" and is responsible for writing many great hits over the years including "United We Stand", "Save All Your Kisses For Me", "Angelo", "Only Fools Never Fall In Love" and many more including film scores etc.

I have known Tony for 38 years and, over the last three months, we have been writing songs and orchestral music together along with my son David. My daughter Tania has also co-written a couple of instrumentals with us.

Our current total of Hiller/McGerty songs is nine, and we are still hard at work writing more. All the songs have been published by Tony's publishing company Hyde Park Music Ltd, and most of them are now on demo recordings. We expect to have several releases early this year so it's fingers crossed at the moment.

Dave at work in his studio

To sample Dave's current work go to